The Spirit: The Inspiration, The Machine: The Technician.

MPC Renaissance vs. NI Maschine fight announced.

I just got wind of this in the wee hours of Thursday morning, Jan 05th 2012 – not 2013 (just in case).

Akai Pro Audio, has released a video of their new MPC Renaissance controller with software sequencer.
Right along the lines of the, now famous, Maschine by Native Instruments.
For a little while now Maschine had its own category. Now, rightfully so, Akai is gonna step in the CPU host “ring”.

Maschine came out of left field and shocked a lot of people. I’m a proud Maschine user, and it has given me a lot of power at my fingertips.
But now.
MPC Junior is stepping up, and let’s see if he has some secret science he inherited from Pop Dukes. …and no doubt, he has studied his competitors moves.

Let’s see where this goes people.

They said it’s a 2012 release.
We don’t know the cost yet.
We know it has a built-in audio interface, so that has some cool points of being able to plug your turntable, ipod, microphones, etc, right into it and get to chopping.

But I am able to do that already with my Maschine setup… meaning… plug an audio source in to my interface, record into the Machine software and get it crackling n hissing.
The MPC-R sounds convenient, however, having so much connectivity in the unit.

As far as I can tell, The MPC-R will be able to do pretty much what Maschine does. They are just not explaining enough at this point.
I figure they are going to announce at some point: “Our MPC-R can do This, and This! that Maschine cannot!”
Then Maschine will say, maybe 3-6 months later: “Aha! Our Maschine can do That, And That… aaand Thiiiisss!!!”

So I feel excited about this.
I may not switch to the MPC because I have already gotten my start with Maschine. And the competition will make Akai announce new features… then… NI will announce new features. So my investment in Maschine may pay off more than I expected, and I’m already more than happy with the staring contests I’ve been able to have with it.

If you haven’t got yourself a NI box yet, but have wanted to… wait for more info on “Jr.” and see what you want to do. I figure whatever one company drops on us, the other will match soon enough. AND. This is mostly software based. You don’t have to replace the controller to get new software. Just download it, and we haven’t paid for an update yet. I’m sure that’s coming though.

Native Instruments is a forward thinking fighter. …but Akai is like a wise old dragon, don’t forget.

I figure after this first bout, someone is gonna loose by a split desicion. Then there will be a rematch, and a re-re-re-rematch for the Two Feroucious Warriors:
Blanca vs. Guille!
wait…
Ryu vs. Chun-Li!
wait…
This is the SNES, we can just keep re-matching… no quarters… and I just ordered pizza.

War&Pce
-Rust Mc Rust Rustin’

6 responses

  1. haha yeah .. good post. i agre, it is good for us as they will compete and make tings better. i recently bought maschine and love it after a month. so i’m a bit annoyed that this has come because i got a new soundcard at the same time, making it a similar price to the MPC (well, what people think it will be). it looks very very nice.

    January 8, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    • I feel you, and would say try not to sweat it… Man I had my Maschine since somewhere ’round the end of 2010.
      STILL.
      I see this MPC video and I am thinkin’ ooooh nice, I want that!
      Especially with the legendary Akai status.
      When I first got the Maschine, I loved it.
      …and when they announce a free update, it is just such a happy day, because they really did step up each time.
      From 1 to 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, or whatever the last one was, each time was a really nice add-on or improvement.
      Lets keep punching these pads and crank up the volume.
      Much blessings on your sound-wave journey!
      war&pce.
      -Rusty Joints

      January 8, 2012 at 11:21 pm

  2. Dylan

    One big difference, Maschine $600, MPC Renaissance $1300

    January 27, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    • Yes indeed, i noticed the price difference the other day. Makes it seem less of a big deal.
      C’mon Native instruments bless us with the next stage in updates!

      January 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  3. Linx

    The Maschine is less expensive, true..! However, you need to purchase an interface to complete the functionality you get with the MPC-R. I actually bought a Maschine and took it back two days after. Once I read about the new MPC I was excited. Also, the new MPC is capable of working with sounds, pgms and waves from all other classic MPCs. That’s a huge one as 80% of the producer base came from MPC background. Just a thought…
    Let me know what you’all think I should do. Wait or jump the broom with the Maschine..

    One….

    April 3, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    • rustyjoints1

      Yieah definitely need an interface.

      In my case, I already had one, and other equip that I got set up thru my interface, so having an interface built in to my “beat machine” didn’t appeal to me much.
      It would still be a controller, with an interface to make the computer magic happen.
      Just with MPC-R it is attached.

      I’m sure the MPC-R is gonna be amazing, as well, when one cracks open the box and start pressing buttons.
      That’s how I felt Cracking open Maschine, there was a look of wonder on my face.

      I think the MPC-R has features like “time stretch” that all the Maschine users have been begging for, for the longest.
      Maschine is on version 1.7 i think, So They gotta drop time stretch and other cool features on us for version 2.

      To your question.
      I think Maschine users will be just fine with their weapon of choice. And, MPC-R users will be just fine with their weapon of choice.
      In your case you’re still deciding and actually returned the Maschine… so just roll with that.
      It seems the MPC-R has more appeal to you.
      So maybe just get that when it comes out, because it will be a more satisfying purchase.
      This stuff is like toys to us, as well as tools and weapons.
      When I get a new piece of equip that I Really wanted, it’s like I’m a kid again, opening the box of a brand new Voltron set of the Five Lions.
      The only thing that sucks is it seems MPC-R is dropping late summer.
      So if you’re not Starving for it, and can wait a little, then it’ll be worth it.

      Yoda told me to tell you, “Use the Force”.

      Best Wishes on your journey
      War&Pce

      April 4, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Leave a Reply

